About Us

We know you don't do status quo. Neither do we.

Our mission: To be our members' trusted financial partner providing tailored solutions to support them throughout their life events.

Become a Member

Get to know Cobalt Credit Union

Board of Directors  |  Supervisory Committee  |  Management Team

Get involved with leading the credit union. 
See what it takes to become a volunteer board or committee member!

Board of Directors

Dr. Julia Cronin-Gilmore


Denise Seaman

1st Vice Chair

Victoria Zajac


Stacy Vance


Beth Thomas


Victor LaPuma


William E. Hetzler

Director Emeritus

John Goble

Director Emeritus

Pat Jones

Director Emeritus

Natasha Lopez


David Bartholet

Associate Director

Supervisory Committee

Mandy Gruhlkey


Lee Dunn


Mercy Ndosi


Dr. Nelson Dantzler

Associate Member

Management Team

Robin Larsen

President & CEO

Bob Doucette

Chief Information Officer

Rod Latham

Chief Lending Officer

Allison Malone

Chief Human Resources Officer

Keli Wragge

Chief Operations Officer

Carol Sherrow

Chief Marketing Officer

Mark Wilkins

Chief Financial Officer

Our Proud History

Cobalt Credit Union traces its roots to November 1946, when 12 individuals submitted a request to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation to form SAC Federal Credit Union. The first location of SAC Federal Credit Union was Andrews Field, Maryland. In August 2018, the credit union changed its name to Cobalt Credit Union. The following are a few of the credit union's many milestones:

November 1946 1946:

SAC Federal Credit Union was founded at Andrews Field, Maryland in support of SAC (Strategic Air Command)

1949 1949:

Along with Strategic Air Command, the credit union moved offices to Offutt Air Force Base, Nebraska

1965 1965:

The credit union joined the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) and Nebraska Credit Union League (NCUL) In 1970, Congress created the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) to charter and supervise federal credit unions

1972 1972:

The credit union moved to Building 513 on Offutt Air Force Base

1980 1980:

Headquarters moved from Offutt Air Force Base to Highway 370 and 36th Street in Bellevue, Nebraska

1982-1986 1982:

During the early 1980s, the credit union expanded to over 50 employees and added many new products and services including debit and credit cards, ATMs, and first mortgage loans

1989 1989:

The credit union assets reached more than $100 million

1993 1993:

The credit union converted to community field of membership

1998 1998:

The credit union introduced CU@Home, which provided members online access to their accounts

2001 2001:

The CU increased its community charter to include all of Cass, Douglas, Pottawattamie and Sarpy Counties and reached $200 million in assets

2005 2005:

CU opens 10th branch location and introduced business loans and services

2011 2011:

This year the credit union expanded its charter to include Washington and Saunders counties in Nebraska and Mills and Harrison counties in Iowa and reached $500 million in assets

2014 2014:

By this time, the credit union employed more than 200 people. Corporate headquarters moved to new, state of the art building on Highway 370 and 72nd Street in Papillion, Nebraska

2016 2016:

The credit union opened its first Interactive Teller Machine (ITM) and established its charitable arm, SAC Foundation

2018 2018:

SAC Federal Credit Union changed its name to Cobalt Credit Union and reached $1 billion in assets

2019 2019:

Cobalt was the first credit union in the local area to introduce new Video Banking technology

2021 2021:

The credit union celebrated its 75th anniversary

Do you have questions about Cobalt Credit Union? Call us. CONTaCT uS